Press Release: 2021 Individual CGP Conference Scholarship Recipients Announced

Monday, August 30, 2021
For Immediate Release
For more information, please contact:
Jessica Hall, Director of Membership and Marketing

Indianapolis, IN – The National Association of Charitable Gift Planners (CGP) Conference Scholarship fund was established to offer educational opportunities to fundraising and charitable gift planning professionals. This year's 15 CGP Conference Scholarship recipients include: Cathy Asmus, Jaena Cotter, Etienne Easley, Joe Eelkema, Jessica El-Zeftawy, Sherrica Hunt, Tracy Karbus, Brianne Kilpatrick, Germaine Mitchell, Meredith Mohlke, Amber Sizer, Bethany Sullivan, Cheryl Ward, Dustie Wiggins, and Staci L. Young. 

The goal of the fund is to promote philanthropic planning techniques among a broad base of individuals. Each scholarship includes complimentary conference registration and a one-year CGP membership. 

Scholarships are funded through the generosity of individual donors and companies dedicated to supporting the broader profession of charitable gift planning. The scholarship donors include: Hibel Family Scholarship fund, George L. Wolff Memorial Scholarship Fund, Chisholm Chisholm & Kilpatrick LTD, Thinkgiving, Jon Abrams, Kent Weimer, and Kimberly Valentine.  


Jon Abrams scholarship recipient:

Bethany Sullivan sq.jpg

Bethany Sullivan

Development Officer, Feeding Tampa Bay

Originally from New Hampshire, Bethany began her fundraising career over 15 years ago with the American Cancer Society. Prior to joining the team at Feeding Tampa Bay, where she is responsible for implementing a formal Planned Giving program for the organization in addition to soliciting major gifts, Bethany was a Philanthropic Advisor, and part of the 2nd largest bequest program at ALSAC/St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, where she was first introduced to Gift Planning. Bethany earned her B.A Degree from Eckerd College in St. Petersburg, FL, and her MBA from Post University in Waterbury, CT.  She is currently working towards the designation of Chartered Advisor in Philanthropy from The American College of Financial Services. 


Kent Weimer scholarship recipient:

E'tienne Easley.jpg

E'tienne Easley

Director of Development, Family Promise of Greater Chattanooga

E'tienne F. Easley, M.S.A, currently serves as the Director of Development with Family Promise of Greater Chattanooga, an organization dedicated to homeless prevention. Although fairly new to fund development in this sector, Ms. Easley dedicated 14 years to the Hamilton County Department of Education which honed her grant writing skills and quickly becoming a Certified Grant Writer in 2016. Recently received a Diversity, Equity and Inclusion certificate from the University of South Florida Muma College of Business, she co-chairs the Black Voices of Family Promise Affinity Group. 


KIimberley Valentine scholarship recipients:

Germaine Mitchell sq.jpg

Germaine Mitchell

Philanthropy Catalyst, DreamSpring

Ms. Germaine Mitchell is a native of New Orleans, Louisiana. For more than twenty (20) years, Germaine Mitchell has organized and successfully implemented comprehensive fundraising programs, special events, regional meetings and conferences for organizations ranging from health to human services, faith-based to adult education, and environmental to at-risk children and family services. She earned her BS in Pre-Medicine from Texas Christina University, a NonProfit Management degree from the University of New Orleans and a Corporate Paralegal Studies degree (with honors) from the Professional Career Development Institute in Atlanta, Georgia.   In 2015, Germaine officially made New Mexico her permanent place of residency. 

Dusti Wiggins.jpg

Dustie Wiggins 

Director of Development, Home Repair Services of Kent County

Dustie Wiggins serves as the Director of Development at Home Repair Services of Kent County, a Grand Rapids-based nonprofit that equips and empowers homeowners throughout Kent County. A native of West Michigan, Dustie obtained a B.A. degree in International and Comparative Politics from Western Michigan University and then went to Thomas M. Cooley Law School. She achieved her Juris Doctor degree in 1999. After practicing law in Oregon and Michigan, she joined the Resource Development Team at HRS in 2017. “I love that our work results in people of all backgrounds getting to experience the many benefits of owning their own home!”


Back to News