Press Release: 2021 Hibel Family Scholarship Fund CGP Conference Scholarship Recipients Announced

Monday, August 30, 2021
For Immediate Release
For more information, please contact:
Jessica Hall, Director of Membership and Marketing

Indianapolis, IN – The National Association of Charitable Gift Planners (CGP) Conference Scholarship fund was established to offer educational opportunities to fundraising and charitable gift planning professionals. This year's 15 CGP Conference Scholarship recipients include: Cathy Asmus, Jaena Cotter, Etienne Easley, Joe Eelkema, Jessica El-Zeftawy, Sherrica Hunt, Tracy Karbus, Brianne Kilpatrick, Germaine Mitchell, Meredith Mohlke, Amber Sizer, Bethany Sullivan, Cheryl Ward, Dustie Wiggins, and Staci L. Young. 

The goal of the fund is to promote philanthropic planning techniques among a broad base of individuals. Each scholarship includes complimentary conference registration and a one-year CGP membership. 

Scholarships are funded through the generosity of individual donors and companies dedicated to supporting the broader profession of charitable gift planning. The scholarship donors include: Hibel Family Scholarship fund, George L. Wolff Memorial Scholarship Fund, Chisholm Chisholm & Kilpatrick LTD, Thinkgiving, Jon Abrams, Kent Weimer, and Kimberly Valentine.  

The Hibel Family Scholarship recipients are: 

Cathy Asmus

Member Initiatives Manager, Mother Jones

Cathy Asmus is Mother Jones’ Member Initiatives Manager leading both the midlevel giving and planned gift development programs. These programs exist right at the intersection of Mother Jones’ membership and major gifts teams. She works to ensure that the relationship between Mother Jones and its donor community is sustainable and meaningful.

Sherrica Hunt 

Director of Institutional Advancement, Bishop State Community College Foundation

Sherrica has a diverse background as a seasoned domestic and international marketing and business development professional turned fundraiser. Sherrica is a graduate of Leadership Mobile Class of 2018, Leadership Alabama Initiative Class of 2019, a member of Mobile's Bay 40 under 40 Class of 2019, and a 2021 Women Policy Institute Fellow for the Women's Fund of Greater Birmingham. She is a graduate of Talladega College with a B.A. in Biology, St. John's University Tobin College of Business MBA in Marketing, a professional certification in Human Resource Management from New York University, and a current doctoral student at Alabama State University to obtain her Ph.D. in Education, Policy, and Law. 

meredith mohlke.jpeg

Meredith S. Mohlke

Institutional Advancement, Purdue University Northwest

Meredith Mohlke joined Purdue University Northwest in 2019 and currently assists the institution as the Director of Development to the Chancellor and the College of Business Dean. She has served in various nonprofit roles for over a decade, primarily in higher education. Last year Meredith was selected as a Scholar recipient through the Chicago Council on Planned Giving, attending all of the bimonthly meetings and the annual symposium. Meredith is active in her community and also serves as a member of the United Way of Porter County Board of Directors in Indiana. Meredith earned her MBA from Valparaiso University, graduating with honors, and a BA in psychology from The University of Miami, Florida.

Amber Sizer, CNP

Chief Development Officer, Epilepsy Foundation Central & South Texas

Amber Sizer, CNP, is the newly appointed chief development officer for the Epilepsy Foundation Central & South Texas, bringing to the role more than 15 years of experience in philanthropy, nonprofit service, and event planning. In this capacity, she provides leadership and coordination for all fundraising and communication strategies and activities to strengthen, broaden, and diversify the foundation’s revenue mix. Amber earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in communication with a focus in public relations and a minor in nonprofit management in 2004 from the University of Texas at San Antonio, where she also received several awards.


Back to News